playing with joy, grief, resilience, stillness, silliness, creativity, and the deep well of wisdom

The InterPlay of Art & Social Change Life Practice Program 2021 Online

Community Healing, and Collective Transformation
Agnotti Cowie, Jiling Lin, and Soyinka Rahim

ONLINE

October 22nd - December 19th

Join us now, when human connection, racial justice & equity, community healing, and collective transformation are especially poignant. The InterPlay Art & Social Change program welcomes all of you. Give yourself days of playing with joy, grief, resilience, stillness, silliness, creativity, and the deep well of wisdom that resides within you.

InterPlay is a practice that invites us to play with our birthright practices of movement, song, voice, storytelling, dance, and stillness to connect more deeply with our inner body wisdom and build connection through community. InterPlay as a social movement is dedicated to ease, incrementality and human sustainability - noticing what feels good in the body, while seeking and creating more moments based on this knowledge.

This year’s program is for people of all ages and begins with Secrets of Art and Social Change with InterPlay July 8th-11th. We are aiming for a balance between Black, Indigenous and/or People of Color and white participants.

The program offers a chance to:

-Share and reflect on our experiences as people passionate about the intersection of art and social change
-Plug into a community that cares deeply about the world, earth, each other, and truly reflects what equity means
-Explore the transformative power of play through both new and ancient ways of knowing, honoring ourselves and our ancestors along the way
-Hone our innate artistic gifts, nurture our capacities, and explore what supports us most along our journey of community and social justice

Opening Weekend
Friday, October 22nd, Saturday October 23rd & Sunday October 24th
Friday and Saturday: 3pm-6pm PST / 4pm-7pm MT / 5pm-8pm CT / 6pm-9pm ET
Sunday: 2pm-5pm PST / 3pm-6pm MT / 4pm-7pm CT / 5pm-8pm ET

Weekly Sessions in between Opening and Closing Weekends
Monday Nov 1: 4pm-7pm PT / 5pm-8pm MT / 6pm-9pm CT / 7pm-10pm ET
Sundays Nov 7 thru Dec 12: 2pm-5pm PST / 3pm-6pm MT / 4pm-7pm CT / 5pm-8pm ET

Closing Weekend
Friday, December 17th, Saturday December 18th & Sunday December 19th
Friday and Saturday: 3pm-6pm PST / 4pm-7pm MT / 5pm-8pm CT / 6pm-9pm ET
Sunday: 2pm-5pm PST / 3pm-6pm MT / 4pm-7pm CT / 5pm-8pm ET

Pacing: We appreciate that these COVID times pulsate with mental, emotional, physical and spiritual demands. We invite you to play at your capacity, and honor your body wisdom around Zoom burn-out.
Alum Connection: We will have one play session with Art & Social Change alumni, who are super rad, silly, wise & awesome allies along your InterPlay journey.
Focus Sessions: Every participant will receive 2-3 Focus Sessions: personalized sessions with Soyinka, Jiling or Agnotti where you will be guided, with both freedom and structure, to play with some aspect of your life using the InterPlay forms and tools (hopes, questions, challenges, curiosities).
Between Sessions: Self-guided sessions with prompts will be provided to explore the practice on your own away from the computer between sessions and/or to connect and play alongside another person from the program.

We welcome the widest diversity of participants to the program. We’ll do our best to ensure the program is accessible to anyone who wants to participate. No previous InterPlay experience is required to attend, although it’s helpful to have a taste before diving deep. Racial Equity & Transformation are important to us as a community of practice. This program seeks to be present and sensitive to equity in our approach to playing together.

COST
NO ONE TURNED AWAY FOR LACK OF FUNDS/SCHOLARSHIPS AVAILABLE: We understand that the COVID reality brings with it great instability around many aspects of life, including livelihood and personal finances. If the sliding scale option is inaccessible to you, please consider what contribution is feasible & contact us if you have any questions or if you need us to add a different tuition price on the paypal options

If you can’t offer a financial contribution but want to offer your gifts and talents in another way, please fill out a Tuition Proposal. Here: TUITION PROPOSAL

Continuing Education Credit
Up to 55 CE credits (15 for Secrets weekend & 40 for LP follow up sessions) for various healthcare and allied healthcare professions are available for those practicing throughout the U.S. and for educators only practicing in Illinois. CE pre-registration is required before the start of your event.
Email Jane at interplaychicago@sbcglobal.net to APPLY for CEUs.
There is a charge of $25-$40 per program. CEUs are offered through Continuing Education Institute of Illinois or R. Cassidy Seminars.

Repeating the Program Anyone who has previously completed the Life Practice Program is eligible for the $1,000 repeaters rate. You may also repeat the Life Practice Program sessions (without Secrets) for $750.

Registration/Information: For more information and questions regarding tuition options, please email Agnotti via email: agnotti at interplay dot org

Make Tuition Payment or Deposit:
Note for Office

Cost: Sliding Scale: $500 - $1950 (includes tuition for Secrets of InterPlay) / $1,000 for repeaters

Registration/Information: Register by contacting Agnotti or submit a payment via paypal

Venue

Online Secrets/Life Practice Programs

ONLINE
Leaders
Agnotti Cowie
Agnotti Cowie attended the first ever “Art & Social Change: InterPlay for Millennial Leaders” in 2010. Since, she joined InterPlay’s national board as well as becoming a certified InterPlay leader. For the past two years, she returned to Oakland as a facilitator of the Art and Social Change training. Agnotti facilitates workshops worldwide employing a variety of pedagogical techniques such as InterPlay, Theatre of the Oppressed, and Devising. Currently she is based in Chicago where she does workshops in schools, organizations and with social movements. Recently, she has taken her work around the globe teaching workshops in Vietnam, India, and Germany.
Jiling Lin
Jiling Lin is an acupuncturist, herbalist, and yoga teacher in Ventura, CA. She empowers wild, creative, spirited health through embodied classes, clinics, and more holistic resources. Jiling specializes in treating pain, trauma, and complex chronic conditions. Passionate about living life as art, Jiling brings years of outdoor education, improvisational dance, and global adventures to her Earth- centered Interplay leadership.
Soyinka Rahim
Soyinka Rahim (GSP) is a grassroots spiritual practitioner who is the founder and artistic director of BIBOLOVE.US which stands for "breathe in breathe out love." She was also the founder of OurThing Performing arts company, where she created the modern-day folk dance play An Altar Piece to Alter Peace, a multimedia, intergenerational performance piece for peace. Her work BIBOLOVE taps into the power of sound, movement and visual art, raising the love vibration of peace, love, joy, happiness, health, grace, and ease. BIBOLOVE supports our personal and collective life challenges by feeding the love frequencies for generational, cultural, racial, body, and economic unity.  Soyinka has brought her wisdom as a spiritual director, conference weaver and workshop leader to InterPlay Certified Life practice, Facing Race, National Association for Independent Schools for Teachers of Color,   Boys and Girls Clubs, Spiritual Directors International Conference, and the Parliament of World Religions.

See more InterPlay Life Practice Programs

InterPlay Regional Websites

This site lists events in many different regions in the world. Some regions also have their own websites.